All ETDs from UAB

Advisory Committee Chair

David S Weiss

Advisory Committee Members

Mark Bevensee

Lynn Dobrunz

Kent Keyser

Kevin Kirk

Robin Lester

Document Type


Date of Award


Degree Name by School

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Heersink School of Medicine


PTX is a non-competitive antagonist of many LGICs, and its site of action is believed to be within the ion-conducting pore. This study will examine, through the use of mutagenesis, electrophysiology and homology modeling, the binding interaction between the LGIC receptors and the PTX molecule. The data provides evidence that an interaction between the PTX molecule and uncharged polar amino acids at the 6’ level of the M2 transmembrane domain are essential for PTX inhibition. While the work will focus on the γ-aminobutyric type A receptor, the pharmacological and structural relevance is attributable to the LGIC family as a whole.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.